2007 Snapshot Archive: Lyn Battersby

Interviewed by Tansy Rayner Roberts

First published at ASiF! 

Lyn Battersby is an Australian speculative fiction writer. She has stories this year appearing in Daikaiju 2, ASIM and Borderlands. Her website is http://www.battersby.com.au

Q1 – Your short story, “The Memory of Breathing,” is currently being adapted as a feature film. What stage is the project at, and what can you tell us about it?

When the story was optioned the (original) producer told me he wanted to adapt it into a short film and gave me the opportunity to write the script. I’ve never written a script so I asked Lee to take it on instead. Matt was so impressed he decided to take it to feature length instead. Lee’s taken it through three drafts now and the news from the (new) producer is that they’re 80% happy with it and are now at the trimming stage. From what I can gather they’re talking to actors and looking at funding. I love the script and there’s stuff in there that I wish I’d written into the original story.

Q2 – What has changed for you as a writer since the 2005 Snapshot? (http://www.tabula-rasa.info/Snapshot/LynBattersby.html)

I don’t edit for any of the local magazines which is the biggest change I’ve made. As a writer though nothing has really changed which is kind of sad really. I’ve sold a few more pieces and attended Clarion South but I haven’t fulfilled my goals of writing a novel or publishing overseas. I’m working full-time plus my son Aiden is living with us, so there aren’t enough writing hours in the year let alone the week.

Q3 – What are you working on right now, and what does your writing future hold?

I’m working on a novel called Children of the Second State plus several short stories that I know can be special if I just find the right words.

As for my writing future, I have a story called “This Is Not A Love Song” coming up in ASIM 34 and one called It’s “The End of the World” in Borderlands 10.

Q4 – Do you read much in the Aus spec fic scene? What’s the best thing you’ve read this year?

I haven’t read much of anything lately. I’m out of the house at 6.30 am and arriving home about 5, just in time to get the kids bathed, fed, give them quality time, get them into bed, spend time with Lee and prepare the next night’s meal. If I do read I tend to make it either a novel or some non-fiction that I can use.

The best thing I read this year was The Portrait of Mrs Charbuque by Jeffrey Ford. I loved it and pressed my beloved to read it, mainly because I found it to be very similar in style and tone to his.

Q5 – and finally, if you had the chance to get it on with the fictional character you fancy most, who would it be?

Easy. Father Muerte. Not only is the guy HOT, he owns his own island and likes a good bottle of red.

Leave a Reply

