2007 Snapshot Archive: Marianne de Pierres

Interviewed by Ben Payne

First published at ASiF! 

Marianne de Pierres is the author of the highly successful Parris Plessis books and the new SF novel Dark Space. You can find her website here: http://www.mariannedepierres.com/

1. Tell us a little about your new novel, Dark Space. What were you looking to achieve with this novel, and what has the reaction been like so far?

This is a novel about me spreading my writing wings: a leap from first person narrative into third person, multiple viewpoints. But it is also much more than that.

It is about assuaging my desire to write a story that explores philosophy and where human evolution fits within the life of the universe.

2. The Parrish Plessis series were your first publications. Looking back, what are some of the things you learnt during the process, both about writing and about the publishing industry?

About my writing: I learnt that I’m an ‘insane’ plotter and that I really need to slow down a bit. About the publishing industry: I learnt how committed you need to be to make a career out of writing books. It needs to consume you.

3. You also have a children’s book coming out in the Lost Shimmaron series. How did you find writing for children and what can readers expect from this novel?

My first published works were children’s stories and I have a junior fiction SF novel sitting in the bottom draw, so it wasn’t terribly scary. My novel in the Shimmaron series is set in a future of Amethyst, and an alternate world called ‘KoolRools’. The tone is light and funny but it satirizes fashion and brands etc.

4. Do you read much Australian SF? What books (Australian or otherwise) have you particularly enjoyed lately?

Unfortunately I don’t get to read much short fiction anymore. Novel-wise, I’m currently reading Pamela Freeman’s novel ‘Blood Ties’ which I’m pleased to be launching in a couple of weeks. It’s visceral and beautifully written and will be well received I’m sure. I’m *upfront biased* about the manuscripts I read at ROR: Margo’s first adult novel is going to set the world on fire, but everything I read at our last retreat was high quality.

5. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, you’re given the opportunity to get it on with the fictional character you fancy most. Who’s it gonna be?

Let me see…can I go for group stuff? Jack Sparrow, Captain Malcolm Reynolds (Jayne when I don’t want conversation), John Crichton, Thierry la Fronde (The King’s Outlaw), Vinny Terranova (Wiseguy) etc etc etc etc etc etc

Leave a Reply

