2007 Snapshot Archive: Pamela Freeman

Interviewed by Tansy Rayner Roberts

First published at ASiF!

Dr Pamela Freeman is the author of 18 books for children and adults, including the Floramonde fantasy series, and Victor’s Quest.

Q1 – Your novel Blood Ties (Hachette Livre) is a bit of a departure from your earlier work, being the first volume of an epic fantasy trilogy for adults. What can you tell us about it?

Blood Ties explores themes of invasion, displacement, revenge and democracy within the context of an epic fantasy story. As the first volume of a trilogy, it introduces not only the main characters, but also the complex and fascinating lives of ordinary people living in an extraordinary place.

Q2 – You have had a huge number of books published, including mainstream and historical as well as fantasy for children. What’s the appeal of working across such a variety of genres? And do you prefer writing for children, or adults?

I think I write the books I’d like to read, or to have read as a kid, but which I couldn’t find – and I read lots of different types of books, so I guess that’s why I write lots of different types. I like to write for all sorts of age groups, although I’m not good at the under sixes. Stories have their own length and their own age range, and I don’t have much control over that. Often I don’t know until after I have finished a story what age group it is for. What I would like to do is to continue to write for both kids and adults – and I have another kid’s book, Victor’s Challenge, coming out next year, so I hope I will be able to keep combining the two.

Q3 – What are you working on right now, and what does your writing future hold?

I am working on the second book in the Castings trilogy, Deep Water, which will be out in September 2008. After that, Full Circle, the third (yes, and the last!) book of the trilogy. And after that, who knows? Created worlds have their own way of generating stories, so what I’ll be working after that I’m not sure. I may also be doing another Victor book, to follow Victor’s Quest and Victor’s Challenge.

Q4 – Do you read much in the Aus spec fic scene? What’s the best thing you’ve read this year?

I’ve always read in spec fic but while I wrote mainly for children I also spent a lot of time reading kids books. Since I started writing spec fic for adults I have read more widely, but probably not as widely as I would have liked – pressure of time is always a problem, especially when you have to produce a book a year as I currently do.

My most recent fave is Dark Space, by Marianne de Pierres. A great read and enormous scope.

Q5 – and finally, if you had the chance to get it on with the fictional character you fancy most, who would it be?

Hmmm…. Difficult… maybe Faramir from LOTR?

Leave a Reply

