2016 Snapshot: Stephen Ormsby

Interview by Tehani Wessely.

PubLogoSpineStephen C. Ormsby was once an author. He went insane and decided that publishing novels would be an easier course in life. He still believes that and now can be found residing in a good asylum near you.

Satalyte Publishing will be publishing their fiftieth book this year, and thanks the Australian publishing industry for their ongoing love and support.

Satalyte had a bit of a hiatus for a couple of months this year but seems to be back as strong as ever – can we expect any new directions with the recent changes?

Satalyte is going to have a BIG end of year, with two new Kevin J Anderson’s coming up (being the completion of two trilogies), as well as David Farland touring Australia. Also we have a number of new releases coming up, including Gillian Polack, Stephen Dedman, and Damien Broderick.

You started out as a writer before moving sideways into editing and publishing – do you still have time to pen your own work?

During the hiatus I did manage to start a new novel, though in the normal running of Satalyte I would not usually find that time. I really do need to look at a way to fit that into my schedule, which includes a part time job, studying for a diploma, the family and, of course, Satalyte.

What can we look forward to from Satalyte in the next year or so?

We do have many exciting releases coming up, and we will be doing our usual amount of touring. So, what can we look forward to – me and my curly hair popping up everywhere again!

What Australian work have you loved recently?

This is another one of those things that goes by the wayside – reading for pleasure. When I start reading, I always default to reading something coming up from us (and this usually means editing). I try to fool myself that it’s not, but we all know that it really is. There have been a few Satalyte releases that I have enjoyed, but I’m staying away from those on purpose.

Which author (living or dead) would you most like to sit next to on a long plane trip and why?

I can think of two authors that defined the way I read as a younger man. They challenged my readings constantly and made look at the world in a different light. The authors I would love t be stuck on a long plane trip are Aldous Huxley and George Orwell.

Leave a Reply

