2020 Snapshot: Adam Browne

Adam Browne is an Australian speculative fiction writer who illustrates his own work. He lives in Melbourne.

1. Tell us about your recent publications/projects?

Last thing I published was ages ago – an illustrated book called The Tame Animals of Saturn, from Peggy Bright Publishing. It’s a bestiary, based on the automatic writings of a 19th Century Austrian mystic named Jakob Lorber. He believed that God was telling him about the animals of the Solar System. His invention is outrageous.

Currently, I’m working on a short comic called Charlene Cockatootoo, based on a dream – I’ve attached an illustration.

I made a short film last year, based on my novel about Cyrano de Bergerac in outer space. I thought it was ok, but nothing happened with it – https://vimeo.com/261257773/be69a932b8

David Tredinnick played Cyrano, and he’s a genius. When I was married in March, he performed the ceremony as Cyrano. Too, he makes audio books – it’s an income for him – and we’re working on some stuff together: I wrote a piece for him which he’s making into a short radio play. Here’s a piece he did for Wyndham Theatre – https://www.facebook.com/WyndhamCulturalCentre/videos/612619546009028/

2. What has been the best publishing or SF community experience of your career so far?

Tame Animals – because the writing doesn’t make me cringe, and I’m happy with the illustrations. Too, Peggy Bright Publishing really worked hard to make it the best looking book it could be.

3. Which recent Australian/NZ work would you recommend to international fans interested in expanding their Antipodean spec fic knowledge? 

I can recommend Greg Egan, of course, who is still very productive; his short novel Perihelion Summer, although it wasn’t our climate-changed world, still fucked me up. Really frightening.

I’m looking forward to reading Claire McKenna’s book, Monstrous Heart; and I like everything Andrew Macrae writes – I wish he was doing more – he’s a sublimated Wm Gibson.

Leave a comment